Net Neutrality: Will the issue arise again?

by Chance Hoener

Net neutrality graphic.

A net neutrality graphic courtesy of Mike Licht via Flickr and Creative Commons.

Back in May there was a large blow up about net neutrality when FCC Chairman Tom Wheeler announced new guidelines prohibiting ISPs from blocking content, but allowing them to make deals with businesses for faster content speeds. The news caused an uproar among a lot of people, protesters took to the streets and President Obama spoke out, urging for strong neutrality rules.

While all of this has gone by the way side since then, I am wondering if it will soon be an issue again. With the power in Congress and the Senate now having shifted to the Republicans, new legislature may arise. When the blow up happened in May and continued through the summer, a good number of GOP lawmakers pushed back against Obama’s work towards net neutrality laws.

While the power lies with the FCC, I wonder if Republicans will use their new found power to try to influence the FCC and create an internet “fast lane.” While speedier streaming and faster access to resources sounds great, is it worth creating an internet with a class divide? Will net neutrality arise as an issue again or do we have nothing to worry about?

9 responses to “Net Neutrality: Will the issue arise again?

  1. This is a really big topic right now–I’m glad you posted about it. I read an article this morning about a new-ish plan that involves a compromise. However, it does learn a little more toward the side of net neutrality. To be totally honest, though, I’m most interested in seeing how this affects me as a consumer (an avid Internet user).

    • I agree with you. I didn’t include that as much, because I’m not one hundred percent sure how it will affect the consumer. As far as my speculation goes, I think that the way it will affect us the most if a “fast lane” is created is say, Netflix pays to be on Comcast’s “fast lane,” then I think that the cost for Netflix users will go up to cover their costs.

  2. Man, what is Ted Cruz doing? His tweet the other day- claiming that Net Neutrality is the new Obamacare- shows how little some legislators actually know about the topic, which is TERRIFYING, because if Party A supports it, Party B will be the anti-sheep who run quickly away from it (and vice versa). I re-watched John Oliver’s “Last Week Tonight” episode on Net Neutrality today and it still holds up. Here’s the link, if anyone’s interested- it’s definitely worth a view: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fpbOEoRrHyU

    • I totally agree with you. It has become a political problem that one party opposes whatever the other party vouches for completely blindly. Maybe a solution is to push legislators to educate themselves on a subject and form an opinion, rather than decide their feelings based on party lines. I think forming opinions on party lines is also a tendency of the general public, and of people who vote.

  3. I agree with Lauren in that I’m interested to see where this issue will impact me as a consumer, but to be honest I really don’t know a lot (make that anything) about net neutrality so I’m glad you wrote on this. I do think that, with my limited knowledge, the tendency to blow this issue way out of proportion is going to be tempting, but I’m interested to see how talks and compromises (if that’s even possible now) will happen with the new political shift in government in deciding this issue.

  4. I have honestly never heard about net neutrality, and I found this incredibly fascinating. I am interested to see if the GOP candidates will be interested in eliminating the neutrality. I think that if the neutrality were to be eliminated there could be a lot of problems with “website classes.” I look forward to seeing how this unfolds.

  5. This is a topic that I have heard about but never really understood. This post helped me so thank you! I agree it will be very interesting to see what the newly elected Republicans decided to do. I think it will become a big issue again because it wasn’t solved last time it was brought up. And now with the change in offices, it was cause more drama.

  6. Net neutrality confuses me, even after a how day dedicated to it in j66. Political strife should never come between a consumer’s right to gather material goods.

  7. I’ve never totally understand the issue of net neutrality, but I agree with the comments above that I’d be curious to see how it could affect consumers such as me. Either way, with the political divide it will be interesting to see how it all plays out.

Leave a Reply

