Netflix for E-books is Now Reality

Posted by Morgan DeBoest

It’s a widely accepted fact that Netflix is a beautiful thing. Have you ever wished you could have the convenience of a subscription movie service in other aspects of your life? That’s now a reality in the literary world thanks to Scribd (check out what they’re saying on Twitter here).

Scribd, you say? Yes, you may or may not use the largest library of e-books already. Scribd is about to launch a “full-fledged subscription service for e-books and other written works,” according to Mashable. Many e-book companies have been vying to be the first to offer this sort of subscription book service–one of these is Oyster, an iPhone and iPod touch-friendly app boasting over 100,000 titles for $9.95 per month. Scribd is unveiling what will hopefully end up becoming a mainstream commodity–over 25 million ebooks and documents at just $8.99 per month. 

According to Publisher’s Weekly, “In addition to offering ‘a majority’ of the HarperCollins backlist (titles go up to mid-2012), Scribd’s subscription service at launch will offer titles from a wide variety of independent houses such as Rosetta Books, Barrett-Kohler, Sourcebooks, Workman, Kensington and E-Reads.” Follow Publishers Weekly (and keep up with e-book subscription developments) here.

Would you use Scribd’s subscription service? What would determine what service you use? Does online convenience trump the need for renting free library books?

3 responses to “Netflix for E-books is Now Reality

  1. I think it’s a great idea, but I’m skeptical how well it will do. People are used to paying for access to movies- before Netflix most people paid for cable or to hard copies of movies from places like Blockbuster. I don’t think people are used to paying for unlimited access to books. Most books I want to read I can find for free at the library, borrow from a friend, or download for a few dollars at at time, and I’m typically only reading one or two books a month purely for entertainment. I hope it catches on, though, because it is a great incentive to read a lot.

  2. Honestly, I don’t think I would use the service. I know paper books take up space in a room (from personal experience), but I would rather hold a paper copy of a book than an electronic version. It’s more personal this way. Also, my ebooks are tucked away in my electronic device, and I tend to forget about them. Seeing a paper copy in my room will remind me that I do have books to read (which I do!)
    Besides, I can get actual books cheaper than ebooks at garage sales or consignment stores or library or as gifts. I’m a bit of a cheapie, FYI.

Leave a Reply

