10 responses to “‘Likes’ on Facebook reveal more than you think

  1. This is really interesting! The only social media platform that I use and make sure is set to private is my Facebook. It’s not like I’m doing anything bad with it, but I completely agree that your Facebook activity can show a lot about you. It’s also not like I don’t want employers to see things I’ve liked or things I’m interested in, but my Facebook is usually just a place where I talk to friends and joke around. Right now most of the things I’ve liked that I can think of off the top of my head are things like movies or bands. I’m interested to see what that says about my IQ. Maybe this is just me, but I also don’t want future employers seeing a picture of Channing Tatum or a meme a friend has posted on my timeline, because no matter what it may say about my personality or IQ, I still feel like it’s not a professional type of thing. Liking a funny meme doesn’t reflect on the type of professional work I can do.

    • I totally agree. I don;t think you can judge someone merely on their Facebook likes. I think it can give you a place to start to maybe get to know their personality but not be able to judge someone on how professional or smart they are.

  2. I saw this study too, and I remember thinking that it made perfect sense. You can determine what someone is like by analyzing what they like. I think that we all intuitively judge others based on their Facebook likes and use that information to draw conclusions about the person. This study just lends a little validity to that practice. Overall, I agree that apps and cultural likes can tell you a lot about a person. However, as Steph mentions, you can’t solely judge a person’s professional capacity based on their favorite TV shows. We have to be careful as social media users to ensure we’re not taking our assumptions too far. After all, there is no true way to measure a person’s intelligence, and if there were, I have a feeling it would not be through Facebook .

    • Like you said, there is no true way to measure a person’s intelligence. I’m in Psychology right now and this is exactly what we talked about today. There are creative thinkers, problem solvers, general intelligence, just so many different ‘types’ of intelligence.

  3. This is so true. And in so many ways makes perfect sense. Just today in our J66 class we watched a “TED Talks” video about how social media may be the end of gender. But at the same time it mentioned how companies can determine demographics based on peoples social media interaction. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZR4LdnFGzPk

    As far as Facebook being the measurement of intelligence, I hope that statics don’t support that theory. Because I’ve seen a many a post, comments and likes that would cause me to questions peoples IQ’s. I would have to agree that being cautious of what you post and like is important especially for future employment because it turns out our parents were right…nothing is truly ever deleted from the internet.

    • I saw that TED Talk too! I thought about it when reading articles about this topic. Facebook for me and a lot of other people I think, is a place to share funny things and just relax and not have to worry about being professional. Judging someone’s IQ off of the things they like/post or whatever on Facebook is seriously not an accurate way to do so.

  4. I find this post very interesting, although I’m not sure how I feel about the validity of the research. Just a personal example, I have social media accounts, but I don’t update them like I should. My likes on Facebook are generally old. I feel like there are probably a lot of people who don’t keep their likes up to date, so how do we know if the research is accurate when it comes to this type of up to date issue? I wish I could find the actual data from this study. Plus, personality tests are not very accurate. Especially when it comes to cultural differences.

    Although I agree with the fact it’s important to keep your social media clean, particularly when it comes to work, I’m just skeptical about the validity any of the news articles and the study itself when making such claims.

    • I agree. I tried to find the actual data but was unsuccessful. I have seen this research written about in almost every social media blog, post, article, online articles, etc. The one from the Los Angeles Times gives more information about the research and somewhat makes the research seem more valid. But there are a lot of uncontrolled variables in this study and does lend it self to sound/seem inaccurate and not a reliable way to do research.

  5. I would also be apprehensive if my potential employer looked at my social media accounts to determine my IQ and character. I think my Facebook would reveal I am obsessed with cats, rowing and Dr. Suess, which are not bad but not necessarily very mature topics.

    I don’t think that you can necessarily judge an individual’s intelligence by viewing their Facebook. I do think it might be clear if someone is not very intelligent or at the very least that they lack common sense. When people post politically incorrect images, comments, etc., it is a great example of someone lacking the forethought that it may hinder their future employment opportunities.

    ‘Likes’ on Facebook and the posts people leave are regularly used to determine which ads should appear on the right side of the webpage. A lot of times I will see ads on my Facebook related to something I recently mentioned in a status or the title of a photo album. In addition to “measuring IQ” a “like” is also a tool for advertisers.

  6. I agree with Hali; this topic is interesting, but I don’t trust the research. Some things like figuring out a Facebook user’s gender may be easy to figure out, but I don’t think a user’s IQ or personality can be figured out through Facebook likes. I also agree with Monica; likes are a tool for advertising and brands expanding their clientele.

Leave a Reply

