Hashtags are #everywhere

Hastags have overflowed from their throne on the Twittersphere to other social

photo thanks to celesteh,Charles Hutchins

photo thanks to celesteh,
Charles Hutchins

media sites such as Instagram, Google+, Pinterest, YouTube and Tumblr.  According to socialmediatoday‘s articleUsing Hashtags as Strategic Objects, today many companies make use of the hashtag as a tool to consolidate their campaign across many different platforms.

 

Reading socialmediatoday’s article on hashtag advertising unity a little voice in my head repeated, “Hashtagging — I think we’re doing it wrong.”

In my mind two types of hashtag offenders exist. First the hashtag purist. The person or company that never hashtags anything. Congratulations your posts look sleek, no obscene symbols obscure your beautiful text, too bad no one will see your masterpiece. Then you have your #too #much #of #a #good #thing #offenders. These are the accounts that hashtag almost every word — no matter the significance. This amount of hashtagging will confuse and disorientate readers.

The article  Using Hashtags as Strategic Objects lets us in on some tips that help social media users avoid a hashtag misfire. Here is the main points I took from it: Use hashtags sparingly and keep them simple. Too many in one post confuse the reader. Also, if you are going to hashtag something make sure it is meaningful and consistent with your message.

For more tips visit Using Hashtags as Strategic Objects.

In the end I decided the tips and tricks that the article mentioned are completely applicable in helping social media users communicate their brand with others, unifying their personal brand across multiple social media sites and in general  helping users make the most out of their hashtags.

#So what is your hashtag strategy?

11 responses to “Hashtags are #everywhere

  1. I like what you said about using a hashtag only if it is meaningful. I feel like whenever I go on Instagram there are pictures full of hashtags. Too many make post look confusing and ugly. I usually don’t even read them if there are more than three or four. I totally agree that if you are going to use a hashtag it has to have a point.

    • I completely agree with the Instagram hashtag overflow. I think it makes posts look very tween like an unprofessional. I usually reach my limit after a few in the same post as well.

  2. This was a great topic to write about! Too many hashtags truly do turn off readers and make the text look ugly. Hashtags are meant to sort things into topics and when people use them for things that are not important or relevant to their topic it makes it very difficult to search things that you are looking specifically for. Businesses that use hashtags are (to me) a lot more likely to have traffic driven by the younger population and more likely to grow in popularity.

    • It really does make it hard to accurately search a topic. I also think it breaks up the post awkwardly as people often add words into the mix just so they can hashtag them. It definitely reaches out to a younger generation of social media users when used correctly.

  3. To me hashtags should only be used on Twitter or websites that support them (because otherwise what’s the point), unless you are a company promoting something. Hashtags are only useful if you’re on these types of sites to sort out what people are talking about, so why use them on Facebook or other sites like that, unless you are promoting a company, product, service, or something along those lines as a way to get your connections from that social media to transfer into the others. That is my complaint about hashtag misuse.

    • Back a year or two ago when Twitter got big at my highschool I was noticing a lot of hashtags on my Facebook feed, I could only assume that people had somehow tethered their Twitters and Facebook together. I don’t know if that was the case, but if so I do agree that it is not the correct use of the hashtag. It is annoying as a reader to come upon it (unless it is part of a company advertisement or movement) on a site that does not support the hashtag.

  4. While the original use of hashtags was to simplify Twitter searches, I feel like now they have become more of an entertainment method. This is obvious when you look at the trends on Twitter. Right now, for instance, one of them is #2thingsthatdontmix.
    To be honest, I use hashtags more in texting than anything else, just for fun.
    I think Instagram hashtags bother me the most.

    • I agree, I definitely believe that the Twitter hashtag has evolved and now has multiple uses — including entertainment trends. I believe that the hashtag in this trend is an open door for advertisers. What do you think?

  5. I tend to avoid hash tagging on posts intended to spread news or articles I find interesting. On occasion when I tweet something for a friend or fell inclined to share my original thoughts I fall into the category of someone who over uses hash tags. Essentially I am one extreme or the other. The article was a great reminder of how to better use Twitter. I’ve learned from Tweeting for our class that hash tags are a great means for searching for information if articles and tweets are properly categorized.

  6. Pingback: Hashtag Hullabaloo |

Leave a Reply

