Twitter Now Used As Hiring Platform

Posted by Taylor Siedlik

We all know by now that Twitter is the leading way of spreading new information quickly and efficiently for journalists. This is old news. Being Twitter savvy is not only expected of journalists, but an important aspect of our livelihood.

Image

Photo courtesy of Shane Pope

A story from USA Today has revealed that Twitter is now being used as an actual hiring process for some companies, doing away with the traditional resume and interview. How you conduct yourself through a few Tweets is now how hiring is solely done in a few forward thinking companies such as Enterasys Networks.

While this is all technologically great, the question that comes to my mind is what happens when Twitter is no longer the social media platform of choice? Myspace is in the catacombs of the Web. Facebook is losing its charm. With employers placing all their eggs in one basket by solely depending on Twitter for future employees, I can’t help but think this will all come back to bite them in the end.

Along with this, recent blunders on Twitter have left me wondering how great of an idea this is. How can this idea succeed if big shots like McDonalds and Burger King can’t even escape hackers? Not everybody on the web is who they say they are, and employers should be on the lookout for this.

Don’t get me wrong. I love all that Twitter has to offer for journalists in terms of receiving information that may have gotten lost along the way or not received at all. From a journalistic standpoint, how successful will this idea of a “Twitterview” be in terms of finding a suitable employee that meets the criteria? This is sure to be one aspect of the job market I’ll be keeping tabs on in the future.

4 responses to “Twitter Now Used As Hiring Platform

  1. This surprises me. I almost find it comical. Twitter is a wonderful source of news but it is not perfect and it can still be hacked, like you mentioned. I just imagine hiring someone through Twitter being like putting all the applicants’ names in a hat and drawing one at random. I still believe the best way to get to know someone is through an actual in-person interview.
    Although I will say, from a potential employee’s perspective, this may prove to be a wonderful thing.

  2. Currently looking at my Twitter account I believe that if it became an actual platform for hiring, I would be unemployed. My tweets don’t say much about me besides the fact that I receive a daily horoscopes and I tweet about news using #j66 and #j70 at least once a day. Twitter is not a representation of my experiences, internships, skills or references, which are all things employers consider.

    Twitter can’t be the end all be all for social media, only because social media platforms come and go like fads. As pointed out in the article. I defiantly agree that if employers start implementing this new “Twitterview” method to hiring it will surely come back and bite them. And may even second guess who they hired in the first place. But like Rylee said this is comical.

    I say no thank you to allowing my employment fate to be determined by 140 characters. I think I’ll just stick with networking on LinkedIn, the nervousness of face to face interviews and killing a couple trees just to print off my resume.

  3. I agree. I do tweet about journalism news and the things I’m interested in writing about, but I don’t think my Twitter account represents my brand well. You can see my interests, but it doesn’t show what kind of worker I am. I feel like interviews and resumes are so much more professional and official. We still need to know how to communicate face to face with people as journalists don’t we?

  4. It is scary to think Tweets may potentially dictate careers. Some companies are now requesting access to Twitter and Facebook accounts for students majoring in marketing. A friends from Drake looking for a job after college mentioned she had to make the decision on making her private profiles available to select companies to help determine if she seemed employable.

Leave a Reply

