Aside

10 Reasons Why Being a Journalism Major Rocks

Post by Kenzie Kramer

A couple of weeks ago I was eating lunch with a couple of friends when one of the girls who was pre-med said “In another life, I’d be a beauty editor at a magazine so I could get all of the free stuff.” I happily replied, “In this life I’ll be the beauty editor at a magazine and enjoy all of those free products.”

It was then and there that I decided that I absolutely love my career choice. Sure, I’m going into a highly competitive career field in a not-so-great job market. And no, my future husband’s parents will most likely not be impressed by my career ambitions but at least I’m doing something I’ll enjoy each and every day.

So in case you’re for some reason questioning your choice to go into the wonderful field of journalism, here’s ten validations for your decision:

1. Swag bags rock. As I already talked about, if you get to the right place in journalism, you  can get a lot of cool stuff. Beauty editors get the newest products sent to them before they even hit stores and food teams get random treats sent to them. You know what doctors get for free? Pens. And they’re probably not even colorful.  

Image from Flickr user bitospud

2. You can work in a creative atmosphere. Not only can you use the aforementioned colorful pens and not be looked a like Elle Woods at her first day at Harvard, but you can also make your cubicle how you’d like it and dress how you want to. Also, I’ve been informed in one of my classes that some magazines have alcohol in the offices and that one even has Margarita Mondays. I don’t see that happening at an insurance company.

3. You’ll (most likely) never have this have this problem. 

4. Reading your favorite magazine is beneficial to your career. In fact, reading anything in beneficial to your career because it helps you recognize good writing. Walking around outside is beneficial to you career because it gives you new ideas to write about. Just about anything that you experience will help you in the long run by strengthening your writing and ideas. That’s pretty cool.

5. You know computer programs. For some reason it still catches me off guard when someone doesn’t know how to do basic editing in Photoshop or change the spacing on type on InDesign. Turns out that not everyone is knowledgeable in the Adobe Creative Suite or even knows what it is.

6. You know how to draw people in. You know that people are more likely to read this post because it has numbers in it. You also know that the keywords will attract people to this post and that certain formatting will keeping them reading. Some of this isn’t even taught during classes, it’s just things you pick up because you’re a journalism major which makes you a lifelong learner.

7. Tweeting is part of your homework. #J70. That’s all I have to say.

8. You don’t have to wear business attire. Considering the attire for most journalism careers, the closest you’ll ever get to a pantsuit is a well-cut blazer. Instead, you can write about pantsuits in articles like this.

9. Bragging rights. Sure, actuarial science majors can brag about their salary but I think j-schoolers have way cooler perks. You know the articles you read about amazing places or the wow-worthy people who’s interviews you read? Yeah, someone has to visit those places and interview those people. Be that someone. Also, ever realize how many main movie characters are journalists? Yeah, no one makes movies with accountants as the lead role.

10. You can do whatever you want. Okay, so you can’t do whatever you want but journalism is a versatile field. Businesses need employees who can write well and do research which is exactly what j-school preps you for.

5 responses to “10 Reasons Why Being a Journalism Major Rocks

  1. While crafting my business cards in J59, I had a similar realization. The business major seated beside me created a card featuring drab colors, drab fonts and drab graphics. My card, however, featured my favorite flowers, my favorite colors and my favorite fonts.

    Although my pay as a sportswriter won’t likely fund an annual cruise, I will (hopefully) interview professional athletes and renowned coaches daily. When I tell people that I hope to be a sportswriter, journalism’s mediocre salary often comes up in the conversation. Thanks to your list, though, I can let others know why the potential penny-pinching is worthwhile.

  2. If you love what you’re doing, then that is what really matters.

  3. I love what you have created here. Your list is funny, relevant, and should be read by more journalism majors. I am happy that you have realized that what you want to do with your life will make you happy. There is nothing more depressing that hating what you do. I also chose PR because I know it will be something that I will LOVE. It will keep me on my toes, and there will always be something new to learn or do.

  4. There are plenty of perks, and you learn all sorts of information about everything. In many ways, journalists become jack of all trades because you learn so much by covering a story. It’s really impressive to say that I just got done with a live shot for NBC with Al Roker, and I’ve done it about 3 times.

    I really like the list, and I think it’s good for journalists to remember that there’s more to it than money.

  5. Love your top ten list.

    I plan on using some of your insights on my class project is to re-brand the WVU P.I. Reed School of Journalism. Part of the class includes conducting an anonymous survey. I was wondering if you and your readers would take 3 minutes to complete the survey for me at http://www.surveymonkey.com/s/58T99J2.

    I am really interested in knowing what journalism majors think about their profession and the school.

    Tera

Leave a Reply

