Social Media and Photo-sharing collide: The Merger of Facebook and Instagram

In recent technology news, it appears that Facebook is slowly taking over the world. The question is, is that a good or bad thing?

By Katie Kalmes 

Earlier this morning, Facebook announced they were buying Instagram, a popular mobile photo-sharing service, for $1 billion. Both Instagram and Facebook posted press releases on their respective sites commenting on the merger.

Instagram CEO, Kevin Systrom, stated on their site that he and co-founder Mike Krieger, “…couldn’t be happier to announce that Instagram has agreed to be acquired by Facebook.”

According to their press release it appears that the Instagram founders are excited and positive about the future of Instagram: “…with the support and cross-pollination of ideas and talent at a place like Facebook, we hope to create an even more exciting future for Instagram and Facebook alike.”

They promise that Instagram will remain (for the most part) how it is today but with the help of Facebook will “continue to add new features” and “find new ways to create a better mobile photos experience.”

According to Bill Chappell in his article entitled “Like the Instagram-Facebook Deal? Depends on Your Filter,” the consumer reaction to the new merger has been mixed.

Although Mark Zuckerberg’s post on his Facebook profile announcing the merger, received about 111,000 likes (at the time of this post) many users are unhappy with the merger.

Screenshot by Katie Kalmes

I noticed on my own Twitter feed, many of my friends worried about the changes Facebook could make to Instagram:

Screenshot by Katie Kalmes
Tweet courtesy of Daniela Trejo and Alan Sears

Do you think this merger will be good or bad for the photo-sharing app?

Links you might be interested in:

Instagram’s press release

Facebook’s press release

A look at the gender issues related to the merger – huffingtonpost.com

8 responses to “Social Media and Photo-sharing collide: The Merger of Facebook and Instagram

  1. I think it will be fine. It sounds like there won’t be too many changes. There’s always fuss when Facebook changes, but then everyone settles down. I think if we just give everyone a few days to settle down, people won’t care about the deal.

  2. I agree. Even if they do make changes, its just a matter of time before we all forgive Facebook and love the new setup.

  3. I don’t really care much about instagram, and so I’m not concerned about any changes facebook would make. What concerns me more is how powerful facebook is becoming. The internet is supposed to be a free marketplace of creativity and variation….but with how long will it be until facebook owns everything!

  4. I agree, I’ve never used instagram myself so the changes do not concern me much but, like you said, the power of facebook does. Facebook is already worth so much its crazy to think how much more they can be worth in the future

  5. I have friends who love instagram! If you like taking pictures then you should definitely try instagram. However I don’t like all the other stuff that Facebook adds to its site such as the games, wars, questions, etc. It’s too much for me. Pictures I can handle, but I ignore the other fluff.

    • Same, most of the time I check facebook just to see if anyone posted new pictures. I think the partnership might help a lot of people with ‘facebook creeping.’

  6. My only concern about the Facebook-Instagram merger will be the accessibility of photos for everyone. What I mean by this is, will every photo that you Instagram have to go onto your Facebook profile? I can see this upsetting people and causing a lot users to stop using the app.

    • Ya i agree. As far as I know there has been no talk of the exact changes facebook will make but i could see that being one. I know all the other sites that have partnered with facebook, such as hulu and pinterest, let you choose if you want to share ‘what you’re doing.’

Leave a Reply

