Why magazines are here to stay

Posted by Andrea Crowley

Have you ever seen the Power of Print ads in the magazines you flip through? Maybe one similar to this? No matter which magazine I spot the ad in, I always stop to admire its message. My faith in this wonderful industry is then reconfirmed. Many people believe that print magazines are dying. They are wrong. Reassurance that magazines are here to stay is what the world of media needs. Below is a list of 5 solid facts, according to the Power of Print website and their experts’ research, on why magazines will continue to remain.

  1. Magazine readership has grown over the past five years.
  2. Average paid subscriptions reached nearly 300 million in 2009.
  3. 4 of 5 adults read magazines.
  4. Magazines deliver more ads than TV or web in a half-hour period.
  5. Since Facebook was founded, magazines gained more than 1 million young adult readers.
  6. Magazines are the No. 1 medium of engagement.
  7. Magazines outperform any other medium in driving positive shifts in purchase intent.

Check out their other 4 reasons here.

Photo by Andrea Crowley (c) 2012

Clearly the facts should be enough to persuade you. Magazines have what other media doesn’t. A relationship with its consumer. Sure, you can create relationships on Facebook and with Internet sites, but there’s much more to it. Staring at a screen and surfing the web all day can be fun. But does the Internet really care about you? Can you really trust it?

Magazines have irreplaceable value. They cater to you and your personality. They find your niche. Most importantly, they give you the truth. What about reading magazines on iPads, you say? That is fine. It’s the industry’s way of keeping up with the times, evolving to fit the needs of its readers. Yet, there’s still something special about the glossiness of each printed page. There’s an ease we find when we feel the pages flip and slip through our fingers. And that’s something many of us would miss if printed magazines disappeared.

To all those who remain skeptical, watch this video that includes the CEOs, Chairmen and Presidents of large corporations such as Meredith and Hearst.

Believe now?

5 responses to “Why magazines are here to stay

  1. As a fellow magazines major, I’m glad to see the positive direction the industry seems to be going in. Of course, magazines need to keep up with technology, but it’s hard to beat the appeal of flipping through those pages.

  2. The next time someone in my family questions my major and its ability to sustain me in the ‘real world,’ I will direct them to this post. We have heard this from every professor and advisor, but seeing it backed up with facts is always reassuring.

    I agree that there is something special about the pages of a magazine. Digital will never be able to replicate the feeling I get when I hold a new magazine, or find a past edition and can greet it like an old friend.

    • That’s a good idea to show them! Sometimes when I spot these ads in magazines, I’ll rip them out and tack them on one of my bulletin boards. It’s inspiring to go back and read them!

  3. I am an avid magazine reader. There’s something relaxing about flipping through a magazine. I look forward to it after a long day and I need to unwind. Magazines also help pass the time in any waiting area, especially dentist and doctor offices.

  4. I love this post. Whenever I’m asked my major, it never fails that someone will question it more times than not. I’m so glad that there are real, concrete facts out their to support my decision to be apart of the magazine industry. I really believe that magazines will stick around for quite some time because there’s so much appeal in seeing pages in print. This post reassured me that I made a good decision and I’m glad to see I have some support.

Leave a Reply

