Curiosity Killed the Cat, but it is the key quality for Journalists

by Jilian Yong

A couple of days ago, I had a mock interview and the feedback that I really took to heart is to ask questions instead of just letting the interviewer dominate. I remembered the interviewer telling me, “Take it as a two-way conversation.”

Curiosity is in fact one of the true quality for a journalist to have. It allows us to have the urge talk to people that we normally wouldn’t see or read about in the newspapers.

However, curiosity can also benefit in job interviews.

“Curiosity is the best quality for a potential journalism employee,” said Ken Coats, the Dean of Arts at the University of Waterloo.

Based on an online article by Joe Grimm called, “Curiosity Killed the Cat, But Good Questions Win Jobs”, he mentioned that curiosity is the key trait that journalists should be demonstrated during an interview.

Just out of curiosity, what is the best question you have ever heard from a recruiter? Wildest question? Worst question?

8 responses to “Curiosity Killed the Cat, but it is the key quality for Journalists

  1. I haven’t really had a lot of experience with professional interviews, but I do agree on the importance of asking questions. It’s always awkward when an employer asks you if you have any questions about their company, and you don’t have any….
    I think it is important to do research on the company you’re applying for, so when the moment comes you can ask educated and engaging questions. Not only will it impress the employer, but it will give you insight on the company that you may have not known otherwise.

    • I agree to what you’re saying. After the mock interview, the interviewer told me that it is important to ask questions (even in between the interview). Also, he said that people love to hear about personal stories and people are usually drawn to that.

  2. I have been to interviews for a lot of different jobs, but I think the most interesting questions came from an interview with CultureAll, an organization to promote multiculturalism. They asked good questions like What is an example of something you made happen/put into action. That really made me think. It tells a company a lot about you though, like how you approach and solve problems. My favorite question was, “If you could have a superpower, what superpower would you pick?” I answered that I think reading minds would be scary, but being invisible might prove interesting. Of course, right after that interview, I wished I had said telekinesis. I could get things done even faster. Thankfully, I’ve never had an employer ask, “Where do you see yourself in 5/10/15 years?” In this economy, I have no idea and I kind of want to avoid thinking about it. I don’t mean to say I don’t have goals; things are just very unstable right now.

    • Wow! That’s an awesome question! The interviewer asked the question about Where do I see myself in 5 or 10 years down the road. I also said I couldn’t really answer that now because I’m not so sure myself. But he appreciated the honesty.

  3. At my mock interview last week, I was asked what color I would be. It was really hard to answer. Do you choose your favorite color or one that matches your personality? Overall I haven’t been asked very many creative questions. I think it really depends on the company, like Hilary mentioned. I did see weird question on the Bell Center applications for next semester. It asks what pasta shape you are. I’m not sure how it really relates to the position, but it is a difficult question.

    • I remember the interviewer telling me a lot of times that he appreciated my honest answers. He also said he liked the fact that I didn’t take long to answer my questions so whatever answer you give, you have to be able to answer it with confidence and also have facts to back it up.

  4. I’ve actually never been asked any really out-there questions when I’ve been interviewed for different positions. Some of the most difficult have definitely been “What is your greatest weakness?” It’s hard to admit your faults, but I’ve learned to do a lot of self-reflection before going in for interviews, which helps quite a bit.

    • That’s true. I personally think that’s the hardest question too because who knows a particular weakness of yours could cost you the job. Obviously, you don’t intend to lie but, it is just to simply present yourself the best you can.

Leave a Reply

