When texting goes wrong

By: Eduardo Zamarripa

Courtesy of reviews.cnet.com

On Nov.21, as the Tennessee Titans battled the Washington Redskins, Titans quarterback Vince Young injured his thumb after taking a big hit. Head Coach Jeff Fisher opted to bring on back-up quarterback Kerry Collins, thinking Young was in no condition to return. After the game, Young had a verbal altercation with Fisher in the locker room and stormed out without addressing the media. 

Young has a record of immaturity and unstable emotional reactions and this might have been the last straw for Fisher. Fisher addressed the media and declared that Young was no longer a member of the Titans, that he was not allowed in the locker room and that he had no idea if he was going to be the quarterback of the future for the Titans.

So your boss is saying he’s fed up with your immaturity. That he does not want you in the locker room anymore and that you are as good as gone. I would think that would be time for Young to have a long and profound conversation with Fisher regretting his actions. What did Young do?

Young texted Fisher, apologizing for his actions. Seriously? A quarterback that is worth millions, having his job on the line, decides to text his angered coach?

“I’m not a real big text guy. I’m not really into this new-age stuff,” Fisher said. “I don’t Twitter or tweet. But I think face-to-face is a man thing, OK?”

I agree with you on that one Mr. Fisher. Maybe it’s just me, but whenever I

Courtesy of reviews.cnet.com

screw up I try to talk someone face-to-face. If I ever stormed out of a classroom I wouldn’t be tweeting my professor ‘I’m sorry.’

So when are we going to draw the line?

We talk about it every day. We analyze and explore the impact that social networking has on our lives. Face-to-face communication, and human interaction, has plummeted amidst this social media phenomenon. Of course, by losing human interaction, we have instead gained a world of communication that probably no one could have predicted. Online and mobile communication has never been simpler or more inclusive.

However, when we are no longer capable of differentiating between an everyday text and a serious issue, then we have a problem of basic human reasoning. Maybe next time a groom is late to his wedding he’ll text the priest ‘You can get started, I was going to say I do.’ Or maybe next time someone is being accused of murder they’ll text the judge, ‘I’m not guilty, for realz.”

Young’s text exemplifies the era we live in. We avoid human interaction and social contact at all costs because we are driven by the need to facilitate mobile and online communication. How much is too much?

8 responses to “When texting goes wrong

  1. I was incredulous when I first heard the story about Young texting his coach. Not only has texting, and other venues like Facebook, affected how people share information but also the way people form and maintain relationships. I think the way people view friendships and dating is much less impersonal today. Often people can text someone all day and then not know how to interact face-to-face, Young being a classic example.

    • I think you are making a really good point. If Young only texts to deal with situations, he won’t develop important interpersonal skills. Texting is a copout. Young should have talked to the coach privately about the matter. They could have reached an agreement and discussed the situation thoroughly.

  2. This is ridiculous! I totally agree, I would never text an apology to a boss, a professor or any of my superiors. This is just odd. Texting is fine for friends, but keep it to that. I would say even texting an apology to a friend is not as good as face-to-face. Technology is ruining people’s ability to be social.

  3. Well I’m glad that most people can still differentiate between a casual text and an apology text. As you said Hayley, Young is a classic example of someone who would rather avoid confrontation and human interaction by texting. I really liked how Jackie called it “interpersonal skills,” that is the risk that we face by dealing with social media. Or as Heather said, “our ability to be social.” Ironically, social media is preventing us from developing our social skills.

  4. Texting is a bitch move, pardon my profanity. Especially for a grown athlete like Vince Young. He’s been around the league for a while and had more than his share of tantrums already, so he needs to man up and talk to Fisher. Not to mention Jeff Fisher is one of the best coaches in the NFL, he’d be able to handle it face to face. Cop out for sure.

  5. I think profanity is appropriate to describe what Young did Skylar. So I think you are spot on. For as good as he is, Young has never been able to get rid of that spoiled college athlete mentality. To disrespect someone like Jeff Fisher and expect to get your job back by texting an apology? Unbelivable.

  6. I completely agree with those last two comments, Skylar and Eduardo. VY has never outgrown the shell he had when he was the toast of the town at Texas, and Fisher obviously has been a head coach in the NFL for years and has a reputation of the old-school, hard-nosed coach. To be honest, I’m surprised Fisher didn’t get more upset about Young apologizing through a text.

  7. I think people use texting constantly to avoid confrontation: My high school friends did it all the time! I would call, get ignored and receive a text five minutes later. However, I would have thought professionals, such as Young, would be beyond a high school maturity level. Guess not…

Leave a Reply

