Facebook: the one stop shop

Posted by Emily Krstulic

Last week, Facebook announced on its official blog the introduction of “seamless messaging”. The blog noted two significant upgrades to Facebook messaging.

Picture from Facebook.com

The first change is the ability for a user to select a preferred medium for receiving messages. Instead of having to choose between e-mailing, texting, chatting or messaging as the sender, each person’s account can be customized to make all contact default to the preferred media.

The second is the combination of Facebook messages and e-mail. And the process is a combination in every sense of the word. Messages will now be divided into multiple folders. Instead of receiving all messages in the same inbox, messages from friends will go to a user’s inbox while messages from groups or other sources will default to an “other” folder. Users also will soon have the option of creating an @facebook.com e-mail address, which will allow them to contact friends who may not be on facebook via e-mail from Facebook.

On the blog, Facebook clearly indicates that the @facebook.com e-mails they will be offering are different from traditional Facebook messages. Messages through the social networking site will still be markedly more simple than e-mails; they won’t feature cc or bcc features, nor will users be able to attach.

I’ve explored the internet looking for more information on this announcement, and most of the articles are dubbing this the “merging of Facebook and e-mail”. I find that interesting, seeing as it’s not that at all.

What Facebook is doing is streamlining the communication process. If a user has his or her profile set up correctly, they will always receive contact from Facebook friends in the preferred way. The @facebook.com e-mails just allows users to take that convenience one step further. It allows anyone to share anything via Facebook. No longer will users be limited to the people they are friends with on Facebook; now they can use a Facebook e-mail address to share content from the social media site with any e-mail contact they have.

Do you think this is a good idea? I find the idea of streamlining all of my Facebook information and messages promising, but I also think it could get a little cluttered. Would you like to automatically receive all of your Facebook posts via texting or e-mail? And, more importantly, would you use a Facebook e-mail address?

One response to “Facebook: the one stop shop

  1. I really like the idea of separate folders for messages from groups and friends, as my own inbox is constantly flooded with group messages that I’m not as interested in reading, but I don’t think I would use something like Facebook e-mail. I already have enough outlets in which I need to check my e-mail that I really wouldn’t use another one. And I most certainly would not want all my Facebook posts via texting or e-mail. This is for many of the same reasons why I refuse to get a smart phone; I don’t want that constant connection and like to be unplugged every once in a while.

Leave a Reply

