iTunes’ Newest Addition: The Beatles

Apple Homepage

Posted by Megan Bannister

“Tomorrow is just another day. That you’ll remember forever.”

The somewhat over-the-top slogan I was greeted with yesterday upon launching Safari. The motive? Generate interest in the “big announcement” that was made by Apple earlier this morning: the musical stylings of Paul, Ringo, John and George can now be found on iTunes.

After a long-awaited deal with EMI, the New York Times reported Nov. 15 that Apple was rumored to have struck a deal for the music’s rights. With the confirmation of the merger and blessing of Paul, Ringo, Yoko Ono and Olivia Harrison, the classic songs of the quartet from Liverpool has been released to the digital world. The newest iTunes business venture also offers a $150 package deal featuring the entire Beatles discography, including all studio albums and A and B side records.

Even before its announcement, Internet debates ignited about what the new partnership could mean for Apple. While some believe that the iTunes enterprise is simply a gimmick to convince customers to purchase more expensive iPods and iPhones, others believe that the development could open new doors for the Apple empire, especially with the possibility of Beatles media used in corporate marketing.

Personally, it was with startling reality that I realized this week how much Apple has taken over my life. Sunday night, without warning, my trusty MacBook Pro bit the dust. With a white screen and an incessantly blinking folder icon my entire hard drive disappeared. Just like that.

The sympathetic man at the Apple store assured me that my 13-inch baby would be back in working order in under a week. So desperate to tackle a paper I had lost in the crash, I headed to the library and plopped myself down in front of a PC. For almost 15 minutes I struggled to operate Microsoft Word, and in the end I moved to one of Cowles’ five Macs.

I hadn’t realized how much of my life was tied to my Mac or other Apple products: music, cell phone, email, photos, calendar, everything. A little pathetic but unfortunately true, I am guilty of playing a part in Apple’s elaborate empire.

Do you think that Apple has cornered a market on advancing technology? Can contenders like Microsoft and Sprint compete? What do you think the introduction of the Beatles mean for the future of iTunes?

4 responses to “iTunes’ Newest Addition: The Beatles

  1. I can’t believe iTunes finally got the Beatles. I thought it was never going to happen, but for the Apple empire this was an extremely slow development. Maybe it just shows the power of iTunes and how nothing can stop it’s growth.
    It seems like Apple dominates the technology market with little room for competition. Everyone else is always scrambling to catch up. I’m guilty of being an Apple kind of girl, but I do know a few people who are anti-Apple (like my fiance). Personally I think Apple has the best to offer, but there will probably always be those loyal PC customers.

  2. Although I’m excited about this new edition to iTunes, I think the timing is a little late. Beatles fans already own all their albums, have bought the songs, have the records. iTunes can’t offer then any new aspects of their favorite four-some. However, for younger generations, this collaboration opens them up to genius of the most successful music group of all time.

  3. The only reason I’m skeptical of the deal Apple reached with The Beatles is why now? What changed? I think it’s great that people can now purchase some of the best music ever produced, but I question why this deal was not reached ago. I sincerely hope economic reasons were not the main trigger for all of this. As to your point about Mac domination, you will find it’s important to stay updated in both worlds. I’m a PC user, but you have to get familiarized with so many of the Mac applications that I’m proudly ambidextrous.

  4. Thanks so much for commenting guys!
    I definitely agree that it’s an interesting time for this merger to occur and we’ll probably never know exactly how much Apple paid for the rights to the Beatles work. I also think that it will be interesting to see where this new sales venue will take the already extensive following of the band and how Apple will manipulate their newly acquired rights in their product marketing.

Leave a Reply

