Smart Phones Predicted to Rule by 2012

Photo by CNN.com

Posted by: Hilary Dietz

Technology is advancing at rapid speeds and everything is going digital. There is an app for anything you can imagine. Smart phones may soon be smarter than the humans using them. With all these gadgets, we need to occasionally stop and ask – is it going too far?

According to a Nielson report last quarter, smart phones have grabbed nearly 25 percent of the U.S. mobile phone market in 2010. They predict that “smart phones will overtake feature phones by the end of 2011.” Do we really need to rely so heavily on smart phones or are many just in it for the applications?

Blackberry, Droid, iPhone – whichever you prefer – provide users with instant access to online accounts, applications, e-mail, and more. Some rely on their mobile devices for business; others like being able to look something up on the spot, rather than waiting to reach a computer. Apps are one of the selling points for these phones. Apple alone has over 250,000 apps for its iPhone, some worth it and others not. They are rapidly becoming more advanced, such as the Starbucks app that allows customers to pay via smart phone. Lamar Advertising Company is testing a new 2-D bar code, or quick response (QR) bar code. Posters in public locations, such as an Albany transit center, have bar codes that passers-by can scan onto their smart phone and immediately connect to that website.

I may be one of the few that still refuses to purchase a smart phone, let alone Internet for my outdated LG EnV2. While everyone around me understands the hype associated with these technological breakthroughs, I don’t want the distraction of having round-the-clock access at my fingertips.

Where will technology take us tomorrow? Is it making our society lazy since they don’t need to go extra lengths to read the news or buy a top-selling book? Or is it creating a society more involved with each other and up-to-date with current events? Only time will tell.

12 responses to “Smart Phones Predicted to Rule by 2012

  1. I think smart phones is making us lazy to some extent. I don’t have one, but people aren’t thinking for themselves anymore. Some smart phone users solely rely on information from their smart phones. Can they not think for themselves anymore? Hearing that smart phones will be a dominant phone by the end of 2011 doesn’t surprise me. People can’t even wait to be at a computer to get information, now that they have smart phones. On the other hand, I do think that they’re good for some reasons. Using a smart phone can have its perks–effective apps, having your e-mail, business situations–there are a lot of benefits and great apps for busy-bodies, which is very helpful. But I feel like smart phones have taken it too far with some apps.

    We actually have a say what about this in our fall DrakeMag issue. Look for it once we come out!

    • correction: smart phones ARE making us lazy.

    • When I saw that they are predicting smart phones to become the leading mobile device, I wasn’t too surprised either. I do agree with you that they have some significance. I think they are most useful for job related business since you can access everything with a touch of a button. I look forward to reading more about this in DrakeMag.

  2. Eduardo Tamez Zamarripa

    You bring up a very interesting issue, since I really dislike smart phones. I don’t know what it is about them, but just the idea of having so much power and so much technology at the palm of your hand repulses me a little bit. My mom (she used to be not technologically saavy at all) has a blackberry and an iPhone and she tells how she is connected to the world at all times and how she carries her office with her. I guess I’m an old school guy. Calling and texting is all I need. Emails are the job of my computer not my phone. I hope that this prediction does not turn out to be true. I do believe that smart phones make people lazier and less interactive. It’s not even about all the things it can do for you, it’s more about the reasons why we stop doing what we used to do without questioning. That’s what bothers me. If smart phones are the future, I want no part of it.

    • I completely agree. I don’t want all the extra distractions on my phone. Enough of my friends and family have them and I get frustrated when they are constantly checking email or getting Facebook notifications. It will be interesting to see how smart phones play out in the next year.

  3. As a recent iPhone convert, I can understand the problems that people have with smart phones. Before this summer I scoffed at my smart phone wielding friends, sure that their choices in phones were excessive and overly flashy. Then my trusty little phone with its slider keyboard suddenly stopped working and I found myself at my local AT&T store, lifeless phone in hand. It took a lot of adjusting to get used to my new gadget but I was quickly won over. I definitely agree that smart phones make people lazy; many of the apps and extra features that come with them are a waste of money and time. However, I cannot count the number of times that having access to the Internet, Google Maps or my email has helped me when I’ve been on the go. At times, I still feel like I underuse my smart phone with my main app necessities being from news outlets, social media sites, my bank and solitaire. The smart phone may be the phone of the future but I think we have a long way to go before we learn to use them responsibly and within reason.

    • Maybe it is that since I have not personally experienced being a user of a smart phone, I dislike them. It would make it much easier to be up-to-date with breaking news. I am always out of the loop when everyone around me is receiving tweet upon tweet during classes.

  4. I think the reason smartphones are poised to take over the cell phone industry is because carries make SO much more money off of them. I’ve noticed that it’s harder and harder to find a nice, quality phone that ISN’T a smart phone; most carriers put all their energy into pushing those shiny new smart phones. And to buy a smart phone, you have to buy a freakin’ expensive data plan. My sister wanted a BlackBerry just because she likes the feature of seeing a whole text conversation instead of one text at a time, but they wouldn’t sell us a BlackBerry without a data plan. I’m a slave to the smart phone, though. Ever since I got a taste of my BlackBerry I can’t imagine living without it. Mine has been broken for a week and I feel totally out of the loop without it!

    • I know exactly how this goes. My 2 year plan is up and I can get a new phone for free, but all I want is the new enV3. Of course, you now need to pay for the data package. There were a total of three phones, I believe, that did not require a data package but they are the bare minimum. I decided to keep my phone until it I really need a new one.

  5. I agree with Emily. Smartphones are becoming some of the only decent phones available that hold the qualities teens and young adults are looking for in a phone: Calls, texting, camera and a decent keyboard.
    However, I believe younger generations have adapted to this lifestyle of wireless capabilities that smartphones provide. As previously state, laziness has become a hard-hitting fact of life.

  6. Although I agree with most of you that smartphones encourage laziness, my main problem with them is what Hilary mentioned about people checking them constantly. Nothing is more frustrating than trying to spend time with someone glued to their phone. The invention of texting alone led to this habit, but smartphones have made it so much worse.
    Also, I had the same problem as Emily when trying to buy a new phone. It is almost impossible to purchase a phone without a data plan without getting some prehistoric-looking phone that I hate to pull out among all my iPhone carrying friends.

    • As I mentioned above to Emily, I had the same problem trying to find a decent phone that did not require an expensive data package. I really don’t want to have that distraction yet. Once I graduate and hold a real job I’ll consider it – or be forced to buy one if they truly rule the mobile device world.

Leave a Reply

