Google Wave and Editing

Google Wave

I love Google Wave.

Although I joined it a week ago and am still learning the terminology (know what Blip is, anyone?), I’ve already fallen in love with Google Wave’s simplistic design and user-friendly interface.

Basically, the screen is composed of four distinct panels: the navigation panel, the contact panel, the inbox/search panel and the wave panel. You start by clicking on your favorite contact to start a new wave with him or her. Then, you can click the plus sign in the wave panel to add more people to your conversation. Oh yes, it’s that easy. You can try clicking around to learn how Google Wave works, or you can just look up Mashable’s complete guide and a video tutorial for novice wavers.

Still, there’s one problem. If you are an indecisive person who type and backspace, remove a Facebook wall post after spotting a spelling mistake, and read over a sentence 10 times before hitting send, then Google Wave might not be right for you.

Because you can’t edit your wave before everyone else sees it.

Remember, this is a real-time communication platform. And when it says real-time, it means everything you type is seen by your conversation partner right when you’re typing it. The notion of editing before publishing clearly doesn’t exist in Google Wave. Of course, there’s a Wiki functionality that lets you and others edit the already published wave and the spellcheck capability that autocorrects your spellings. But whatever you’ve typed, folks, there’s no taking it back. So, think twice before typing.

On the bright side, though, Google Wave is very flexible. You can add applications or extensions just like you can on Facebook. Think of how exciting it would be slaving your workers away in Restaurant City, planting tomatoes in Farmville and feeding your pet in Pet Society. All in real time with your friends.

By the way, if you still need an invitation to Google Wave, shout out. I only have 15 more to go.

6 responses to “Google Wave and Editing

  1. I don’t feel as though Google Wave’s inability to allow edits detracts from its utility. In fact, I really believe that we need to grow more familiar with the idea that what we say is significant.

    In this day and age, almost everything allows instant change. It makes us capricious, incapable of applying real thought to what we say because we can just as easily delete it after its been said.

    • So, you are saying that Google Wave will prompt people to carefully think before they speak/type? Because I agree with you. When it’s easily deleted, people don’t pay too much attention to what they say.

      But there’s a difference between editing after the comment has been posted, and editing in your head before you type something down. Of course, editing a comment in your head isn’t so real. You can’t really see how it looks before it’s put on paper. That’s what I’m trying to get here. For me, reading over my comment one more time before clicking submit is a must. I obviously can’t do that on Google Wave. By the time I’m done typing this comment, you would have already read it all: my grammar error, my weird phrasing, and my stupidity. I mean, I can’t help it sometimes I type out strange stuff.

      Don’t you reread your comment again before you post it so you can make sure it sounds good? Yup, you can’t do that in Google Wave.

      • I would have trouble with that – I am big on editing what I type after I type it. How do you deal with this, Sam?

  2. Ann Schnoebelen

    This would take a great deal of adjustment for me. I’m totally OCD when it comes to comments and posts. Even if it’s just on a friend’s Facebook wall, I’ll read something through a few times over before finally clicking to make it public. Interacting in REAL real time like on Google Wave would probably send me into conniptions.

    And I have to say, this class hasn’t done much to lessen my over-corrective habit. Before this semester, I just wondered if something sounded stupid and checked for typos. Now, I stare at cursor pondering, “who? no, whom? wait- he makes me nauseated, not nauseous. Does this need a hyphen? And if this is my antecedent, then my pronoun would be… ”

    Thanks, Jill.

    • Ann Schnoebelen

      p.s. That post took me seven minutes to complete.

      • You’re welcome. And I’m the same way, editing and proofing before posting anywhere. I’m always terribly embarrassed (embarassed?) when I do err. I even edit and proofread my texts.

Leave a Reply

