National Novel Writing Month Kicks off November 1

Well, November is (almost) here and that means only one thing…

NaNoWriMo!

nano_09_blk_support_1

You’re probably asking, “What the heck is NaNoWriMo?”  Well, the short of it is to attempt to write a 50,000 word (about 175 page) novel from midnight November 1 to the end of November (midnight November 30).  Started 10 years ago by Chris Baty in San Francisco, the event has grown over the years into a worldwide phenomenon that is completely run by donations.  It’s all about quantity, not quality.  The whole point is to write until your fingers fall off without editing, which I know I need to learn to do just to get a cohesive article written.

So who in their right mind would attempt such a foolhardy goal?

You could ask the almost 110,000 people around the world who suffered the insanity last year.  Or you could ask the almost 140 CIA members if you want to stay closer to home.  That is, the 140 Central Iowa Author members.

Check out the madness I endured last Sunday at Jason’s Deli during our “Kick Off” Party, and you know the insanity that I’m about to start.  We’ve got veterans who have written five, six, seven years; new NaNoers from high school; and even a 7-year-old who’s going to attempt NaNo (but she’s going for the more attainable 5,000 word mark).

Well, if anyone would like to join me, you’re more than welcome to.  Think about it:  50,000 words divided into 30 days is an average of 1,667 words a day, an easily obtainable goal.  If you have any questions about my sanity in going through this, feel free to comment below.  But if you see me walking around Meredith muttering to myself and scribbling in a black notebook, I’m totally sane.

10 responses to “National Novel Writing Month Kicks off November 1

  1. I’d do it in a heartbeat! If I didn’t have to worry about schoolwork, sleeping, and my own general well-being, I think I could get the whole 50,000 words. Maybe I’ll shoot for 10,000 instead. Does it count if you stretch it for five months??? lol I think this is extraordinary. What a fun thing to be a part of!

  2. I can totally see myself doing this if I wasn’t so busy with school. Word counts genuinely freak me out though. I’m not sure I would be able to convince myself that I could make it to 50,000 words in one month. If this event took place over winter break, I would totally be doing it – maybe I’ll just do my own? I definitely need the writing-without-editing practice. Great post!

  3. Hehe. Holly, we should do this. I’m up for it if you are…

  4. My sister’s doing it. You all sound a lot more optimistic than she does…but she’s like. Actually writing a book. Are you writing with the goal of getting published? You go, girl.

    • I may decide one day to get published. It’s still up in the air. But if you have a great group of people who are doing the same thing (just like the Central Iowa Authors), it’s a heck of a lot easier to write.

      It’s the end of day one, and I’ve written almost 5,000 words today. I have a feeling it’s quite possible I’ll make it past the 50k mark.

      • I’m so impressed.
        Are you on Twitter? If you are and ever feel in need of inspiration or a pep talk, #nanowrimo is overflowing with people in the same boat! Just a thought.
        Thinking about you! Continued luck-wishing.

  5. This is so crazy. There is no way I would be able to do this on top of everything else in my life. Best of luck!

  6. This does sound amazing. If only I had something to write 50,000 words about.

    The writing without editing part would be great practice, but I think the lower-count word requirements for magazine writing are perfect for me.

  7. Too scary. I love conciseness. I’ll leave this to the professionals.

  8. Oh, you brave soul. I respect you more than you could possibly know. But I think this is a fantastic idea. I love it! Keep it up and don’t stop scribbling in your notebook or talking to people who aren’t really there. Inspiration is haunting you–take advantage of it!

Leave a Reply

