Grammar and Twitter: A Match Made in Heaven

grammargirl“Grammar Girl” (aka Mignon Fogarty) publishes her new book, “The Grammar Devotional,” next week. It’s billed as “365 playful, practical tips to improve your writing one day at a time.”

Grammar Girl is a phenomenon. Her first book, “Grammar Girl’s Quick and Dirty Tips for Better Writing” was a New York Times best-seller. Her podcast is one of the most popular on iTunes.  Her blog, “Quick and Dirty Tips,” is a must-read. She was even on Oprah.

And she’s on Twitter, @grammargirl, with more than 23,000 followers.

She’s promoting the “The Grammar Devotional” via Twitter through her “tweet and win” contest. Twitter users who tweet her book title and link to her site are entered into a daily contest to win the book. It’s an interesting use of Twitter as a marketing tool. The book only costs about $10, but I’ll bet lots of grammar geeks will enter the contest.

I did.

3 responses to “Grammar and Twitter: A Match Made in Heaven

  1. I love Grammar Girl. It’s really fun to see people getting excited about grammar.
    Maybe, if this contest works and gets hype going about GG’s new book, the general public will finally learn the difference between your and you’re.
    I cannot wait for that day.

  2. Hear hear to that!
    I subscribe to the Grammar Girl podcast and love it. That’s where I finally grasped the difference between “further” and “farther” and have learned all sorts of things about different tenses and verb conjugations. I’m probably not her most devoted fan in the entire world, but I have grown acquired to running occasionally with my headphones blaring lively podcast discussions about antecedents.

    Yes, thanks to Grammar Girl, they do exist.

  3. Concepts like Grammar Girl give me hope for technology. I love seeing examples of using podcasts and Twitter to promote educational topics!

    So, I’ve finally subscribed to the Grammar Girl podcast. I’d heard about it everywhere, but always seemed to forget to subscribe. I’m loving it so far.

    I’m interested to see what the variations on Grammar Girl are like: Legal Lad, Money Girl, Nutrition Diva… I’ll have to investigate those next.

Leave a Reply

