MediaBistro applauds multimedia journalism

MediaBistro posted a tweet several hours ago that made me appreciate the fact that we as students are encouraged to explore multimedia in our studies. The tweet read: “A good template for the future journalist and content producer: 3 Multimedia Journalists to Watch” followed by a link to 10000Words.net. The article profiles three journalists’ use of multimedia and how they enhance the impact of their stories. All of these journalists are younger (probably under 40) and more tech-savvy than their more-experienced.

One reporter, McKenna Ewan, created a Web site called “Times of Recession” that focused on the recession’s affect on our society. This site incorporated his article, photos and video to create a visual and effective story about the hardships created by the economy.

Mathilde Piarde uses Twitter to exemplify “that young journalists are not the carefree, free-spirited wanderers that veteran journalists often think they are.” Her most notable multimedia projects include a site about women who choose in-home birth instead of going to a hospital and a multimedia profile about Palm Beach, Florida’s top 10 Hot Jobs.

Photojournalist Chris Tompkins is recognized for his exceptional photographic use in multimedia. One in particular was a video essay about Yosemite National Park.

This recognition of these multimedia journalists makes me grateful for our use of multimedia encouraged by our professors. I admit that, at first, I was resistant to starting a Twitter and a blog. I didn’t see the point, it seemed more of a distraction like Facebook. However, after sticking with it and using it to my educational advancement, following tweets of people/companies I find interesting, and immersing myself in my weekly blog, I see the importance of social media. I am also expected to add photos and video to articles I write for J91 (Magazine Writing), which I now realize enhances my understanding of the topic, making me a better journalist.

It is refreshing to see young reporters applauded for their use of multimedia. It gives me as a student a glimpse at what it takes to succeed among more experienced journalists.

4 responses to “MediaBistro applauds multimedia journalism

  1. Mary Bess Bolling

    The three journalists on 10000words.net presented their stories in innovative ways.

    Each focused on a specific issue, but communicated through various media. Recently, my J59 instructor changed our syllabus upon the request of a new professor who encouraged her to stress the design of webpages through templates, as opposed to Dreamweaver.

    As our J-school adapts to the changes in the world of journalism, do students feel like they’re gaining the knowledge it will take to produce quality work like that of the multimedia journalists to watch? Do you feel like you’re putting in the effort to reap the benefits of the equipment we have at our fingertips?

  2. I think students definitely have the potential to create the same kinds of stories these journalists did. The techniques we learn in class aren’t that far removed from the finished products of these multimedia projects. I agree with you that the real question is whether or not we are attempting to learn and apply ourselves to the technology.

    I would answer that, if we want to succeed in our careers, we have no choice but to adapt to (and become adept in) multimedia. If we don’t apply ourselves to the innovations in our field, we will be left behind, probably jobless, while those who keep up with the times get ahead. I am learning more about multimedia every day, and with that knowledge comes a greater respect for the technology. The more I learn about these new skills, the more I want to practice them.

  3. Multimedia is fun! I took the J102 multimedia and storytelling class last semester and it opened my eyes to all of the various tasks reporters are being asked to do. We focused on slideshows and video work. I was overwhelmed at the new medium at first, but after I got used to it I began to enjoy thinking in a different fashion. I think that being exposed to multimedia has helped me when I am reporting to think in a more visually and in depth way. I would also add that we have an advantage because we have been exposed to technology all of our lives. The time it takes us to figure out a new program, or piece of equipment is a nano second compared to those who are seeing all this technology for the first time.

  4. Ann Schnoebelen

    These are great examples of what journalism is becoming, and I love it.

    I appreciate all the ways in which we’re encouraged to develop our multimedia skills at the J-school, but sometimes, okay a lot of the time, I still feel like I don’t know a thing. I wouldn’t have any idea how to do some of the things Mathilde Piard uses on the Inside Home Birth piece. By the time we graduate, will the software we’ve been trained on all be obsolete? I just hope I get some basic experience and can catch on to the tools being used wherever I end up.

Leave a Reply

